How Do You Get In The Mood?

Writing those gut wrenching scenes can be nearly impossible if you’re in a perky, joyous mood. It’s the holiday season, my first with the new lab puppy. Who can be depressed when there’s a cold puppy tongue licking your face? I do, however, have a gut wrencher scene coming up in my WIP, Beyond the Obsidian Gates (Book Two of the Heart Of The Warrior series).

How to get in the mood? Punch myself in the face? No. Ouchies don’t help. Sit through Hamlet (any version)? Gawd no! Here’s my ‘go to’ list for getting in the tearful mood:

Music has always been a big part of my life. It has the ability to directly impact my moods. Listening to certain songs (Adele and Evanescence have some good ones) take me to that moody place I need to wallow in for inspiration. Staying focused requires instrumentals from such artists as Llewellyn or Eric Harry.

Nature is an endless source of inspiration. Pulling on my coat and taking a long walk by the lake or in the woods clears my mind and gets it ready to do the job.

Meditation. Strip away distraction and focus your mind on one task. It really is amazing how well meditation works no matter what you’re trying to do.

Have more ideas? I’d love to hear them.

2 thoughts on “How Do You Get In The Mood?

  1. Concentrate on a really sad moment or event in your life. (or what ever emotion you are going for). Spend 20 minutes living through the scene in your mind before you write. Really be the character(s). How would you feel? What would you be thinking? Be that person.

Leave a Reply

