You May Have Hidden Gems In The Old Recipe Box

IMG_0112

If you were in the public school system back in the 1970s (Dang. Let that sink in!), I’m fairly certain you feasted on tasty desserts during school lunch. Butterfingers were a particular favorite of mine. Cookie-like cake smothered with peanut butter and then topped with yummy milk chocolate frosting. Ring a bell?

My neighbor, Sandra, was a lunch lady at either my elementary school or my junior high school. I honestly can’t remember. I do remember the woman was one of the best cooks I’ve ever seen. And generous. She used to make Butterfingers at home and would share with the neighborhood kids that scratched at her front door (I was always first in line).

Sandra has passed and I’ve long since moved away from the old neighborhood. I hadn’t thought about her in years until I stumbled upon an old recipe box I had tucked away in my cupboard. Inside I found a piece of my childhood. It was the Butterfingers recipe she’d given me when I was in high school! They may not make this dessert anymore due to peanut allergies and improved nutritious menus (Yes – I support the change, but every now and then you need a little something bad for you!). In the spirit of the over indulgent holidays, I want to share this recipe with you.

Butterfingers

Note: [Due to food allergies and sensitivities, I’m on a Gluten Free and Dairy Free diet. I know some of you are as well, so I’m putting the GF ingredients in brackets next to the original ingredients.]

1 cup sugar

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup margarine [plant/ soy based butter]

2 eggs

1 teas vanilla [GF vanilla power]

2 teas baking soda

1 teas salt

2 cups flour [1 cup GF All Purpose Flour, 1 cup Brown Rice Flour]

2 cups rolled oats [GF rolled oats. The Red Mill is good]

1 cup peanut butter [GF peanut butter doesn’t spread as well, so I had to use 2 cups]

Chocolate Frosting

Mix all ingredients – except the peanut butter and chocolate frosting – together. Spread the mix onto a cookie sheet or a tin sheet cake pan. Press it down with your hands until it’s even. Bake at 350 for 10 to 15 minutes. A toothpick inserted into the cake should come away nearly clean. I like my Butterfingers gooey, so I cut back a few minutes. Spread the peanut butter on a completely cooled cake. Then top with your favorite chocolate frosting recipe or store bought brand.

Enjoy this little piece of childhood 🙂

Don’t forget! There’s still time to enter The Lords of Valdeon Goodreads Book Giveaway

TheLordsofValdeon_Cover

Leave a Reply

