A Case for Trying New Things

Do you recall the tomato plant video drifting around Facebook a few months ago?  A guy claimed he could grow several plants by covering a slice of tomato with dirt and keeping it watered. I watched the video several times with a healthy dose of curiosity and a bit of trepidation. Tomato growing is serious business.

It’s widely known I’m a tomato addict. Roma, Beef Steak, Early Girl, Cherry, Heirloom – I love them all. My favorite, however, is the Campari. I could eat these by the dozen. Finding the plants in my area has been a challenge. I decided to try tomato guy’s technique. Setting a pot of dirt by the window in my dining room, I sliced up a Campari and covered it with potting soil. Water and early spring sun kept the soil happy. Did it work? See for yourself!

IMG_0028

It’s easier to stay with the status quo rather than trying new things. Life is about taking risks. Be brave! The rewards can be tasty.

2 thoughts on “A Case for Trying New Things

  1. Strangely enough, most people I know don’t really like Tomatoes, but I happen to absolutely love them! Never saw the viral video, but the trick makes sense and clearly works! Well done, hope they’re as Tasty as the rest!

Leave a Reply

