Creation demands Endurance

@wilkat – Stock. Adobe.Com

Plodding through my current WIP for the umpteenth time, I ran across a passage about my main character’s family motto. Endurance. My character leans on this family axiom in a particularly troubling and dangerous time. His ability to endure through the most trying and painful experiences helps him to survive.

It got me thinking about editing.

Hear me out. Imagine going through the same manuscript again and again. I think I’m on either edit effort number five or six. I’ve lost track. It’s exhausting. I just want to hand the dang thing off to the next person. BUT – when you’re an Indie Publisher, there really is no “next person.” You must endure and do the work before sending it out. Line editors cost money. Most Indies don’t have a big wad of cash to blow. We must be certain the quality of our books is worth the expense. If your editor comes back with a “this isn’t ready” then you’ve just wasted hundreds of dollars.

“Find the one thing you value most and hold onto it with your very soul. How much would you endure to keep this treasure near your heart?” – excerpt from The Obsidian Gates

@gustavofrazao – Stock.Adobe.Com

What keeps me going? Passion. I love my stories and I love sharing them with my readers. Now you know my dearest treasure. My passion helps me to endure.

2 thoughts on “Creation demands Endurance

  1. One of my favorite quotes goes like this: “Passion has little to do with euphoria and everything to do with patience. It is not about feeling good. It is about endurance. Like patience, passion comes from the same Latin root: pati. It does not mean to flow with exuberance. It means to suffer.”

Leave a Reply

