The Day the World Changed

Work Together for Peace

We Can Change the World Together© Jürgen Fälchle stock.adobe.com

It’s hard to believe September 11, 2001 was 18 years ago. I still remember where I was and what I was doing with a clarity time can’t diminish. My country, for the first time since WW II, was under attack. I remember standing on my brother’s back porch and trembling as the fighter jets flew low over the house. Alone on a small patch of horse property in Greeley, Colorado, I felt isolated and vulnerable in a way I’d never experienced.

The day the world changed was the worse day of my life. It stripped away a nation’s impervious self-image and its innocence. I was forced to find my personal courage and came to realize there was no choice but to carry on in a new world full of danger.

And as a nation, we have carried on. It’s been difficult. Each day in the news, our struggles with hatred, fear, and anger stream across the internet in ugly images of violence.  I, however, have faith in our ability to overcome the current chaos. The world changed in one day with an unspeakable act of violence. We can change it again for the better if we work together.

Be Positive. Be Happy. Be Well.

But also, Be Patient. Be Loving. Be Encouraging.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.